Forums HomeGrown Herbalist Student Forum Herbal Medicine Making Reusing vodka (alcohol)

Viewing 9 reply threads
  • Author
      Renee Peterson
      Student

I am a new student and this is my first post so forgive me if this has been breached before. I have made tinctures for a couple of years now. Mostly just for flavoring- almond, cherry, vanilla, etc. Is it possible to use those “flavorings” as medicinal tinctures by adding the herbs I want to the already flavored vodka mixture and letting it age properly again? I used good-quality vodka.

3 users thanked author for this post.
        Melinda Schwab
        Student

Following…. Interesting topic.

Paige
          Student

Good question and welcome.

PMR

1 user thanked author for this post.
            Dr. Patrick Jones
            Homestead Instructor

Nothing wrong with a vanilla-flavored tincture I guess. :0)

Don't use herbs or combine herbs with medications or use them during lactation or pregnancy without talking with your healthcare provider.

Sharon
              Student

And of course her question stimulated yet more from me – the source of never ending questions!

• What about “re-tincturing” a tincture that you just don’t see a use in that you made a while back when a super rookie (you know, the “I’ll tincture that – it might come in handy someday” syndrome) that I think we all went thru…  I guess there could be some herbs that don’t play nice with other herbs?  Say something like Soloman’s seal root, or a “non berry making” barberry leaf tincture as an example?
                • OR, what if  you had two things that you’d like to take together regularly like marshmallow and mullein for example, could you use the tincture from the first one to tincture the second one (because you tinctured the first as a simple, not as a blend).
                • OR, is it better to combine 2 or more simples together, and if so, does the blending after tincturing change any properties or dynamics of the herbs?