Forums HomeGrown Herbalist Student Forum Veterinary Herbology Dog Allergy Spots and Skin Growths

• This topic has 5 replies, 5 voices, and was last updated 7 months ago by .
Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author

Hi All,

Newbie here. Gracie, my “fur niece”, a lab mix rescued from a shelter, has had issues with summer allergies for 6 years.  We have been told that she is allergic to grass. She has gone to several vets, but none have been able to help with the scabs she gets all over her body.  They rub off easily and pull hair with them.  The shampoo the vet prescribe is only effective short-term.  I tried some colloidal silver on a few spots and it seemed to help them heal.  What herbs should I use to make a tincture or just mix into her food to help her?

Then a growth started to grown out of the top of one paw six months ago and then out of her back side.  She nibbled on the backside and it started to bleed.  I have yarrow and wondered if that would be a good plant to use to stop the bleeding.  I have wondered if she has cancer and I do not want her to hurt.

Could someone suggest some of Doc’s formulas or herbs that would work well for Gracie?  Has anyone had a dog with scabbed spots that found something that worked well for them?   We have done an elimination diet and that has not stopped any of the itchy scabs in the summer.

The Lord had given us so many herbs to use! I am so thankful for Doc Jones teaching us how to use them!  Thanks for any wisdom, hints, or tips you can pass along.  Gracie and I are grateful for your help!

Blessings,

Kathleen

2 users thanked author for this post.
      Joelle
      Student

Hi Kathleen,