Forums HomeGrown Herbalist Student Forum Herbal Medicine Making Elderberry syrup making

Viewing 17 reply threads
  • Author
      Tamra Barnes
      Student

I am new into learning about herbs. I have made a couple batches of Elderberry Syrup. First batch had a strong clove flavor, second batch less clove and much better flavor. My husband and I each take a dose daily. A few days ago, my husband thought he may have been coming down with something. I sent two doses of elderberry syrup with him to work. Then he took another dose before bed. He done that a couple of days, thankfully he didn’t come down sick.

Again, I am new at this. I have never heard of an Elderberry Tincture.  Until doing an assignment, thanks to the Forum.  What is it good for? How do you make it? Dosage?

Jean
        Student

Elderberry Tincture: “What is it good for? How do you make it? Dosage?”

Hi Tamra,  It seems to me that Elderberry syrup and Elderberry Tincture would be used for the same things.  I would prefer the tincture over the syrup just because there is no sweetener used in the tincture.  Basically you pour vodka over the dried berries, put in a dark place for 2-6 weeks and shake everyday. Then strain after the time is up.  (If using fresh berries you would use everclear instead of vodka.)

Elizabeth
          Student

Hi Jean, would you do the the same ratio of berries to alcohol like you would with herbs to alcohol  (1:5) ? Also can you use vodka for dried elderberries ?

Thanks, Elizabeth

Oh, what peace we often forfeit, Oh, what needless pain we bear,
            All because we do not carry, everything to God in prayer!

Jean
              Student