Viewing 10 reply threads
  • Author
      Andrea Snow
      Student

We use essential oils in our house! My favorite scents to use are from Plant Therapy- lavender is one of my favorites as well as my toddler’s as well. I put a dab of it on his feet to help him relax his way off to sleep! I cannot wait to learn more during this class!

1 user thanked author for this post.
        Dr. Patrick Jones
        Homestead Instructor

Essential oils can be useful.

Don’t use them on cats or small dogs and don’t use aromatherapy/diffusers in homes with pets. Some of them are causing serious problems and deaths in animals when inhaled.

Don't use herbs or combine herbs with medications or use them during lactation or pregnancy without talking with your healthcare provider.

Total of 15 users thanked author for this post. Here are last 10 listed.
            Ashley Cosby
            Student

I have been using essential oils for several years but I feel like a deeper study of herbs will give me so many more options to care for my family and animals in more safe and effective way than essential oils alone. I am a new student and excited about learning more!

4 users thanked author for this post.

I recently purchased a  copper distiller to make my own essential oils. Can the fumes released during this process also affect my dog? So far I have distilled lavender, compher,  mint and eucalyptus and I noticed that she went outside when the smells became too strong. Are there particular herbs that one should take  note of and be extra cautious with?

Dr. Patrick Jones
                Homestead Instructor

I wouldn’t distill oils in a house with a dog or cat. Dogs and cats should stay away from essential oils in general. They have very different livers than we have don’t have the metabolic pathways to process them.

Oils Toxic To Cats:

• Cinnamon oil
                  • Citrus oil
                  • Clove oil
                  • Eucalyptus oil
                  • Oil of Sweet Birch