Forums HomeGrown Herbalist Student Forum Herbal Medicine Making Fresh or dried?? best method for tincture creation

• This topic has 9 replies, 10 voices, and was last updated 8 months ago by .
Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      Alana Potter
      Student

Hey all (and Doc)

Ok so I learned many years ago as a young herbalist to make tinctures using fresh plant material and did that fir many years.  More recently and after starting this course esp. I have moved to using dried and freeze dried plant material.   BUT just recently I have again been told how very important it is to use fresh material, at least for most/many plants.

Obviously there is some nuance to this decision but please share your reasoning for one or the other.  Thanks so much.

2 users thanked author for this post.
        Denise Floch
        Student

Alans, I have a similar question. I am a new student and haven’t made a tincture yet. I have fresh cleavers in my garden and was wondering how best to preserve it.  Should I make a tincture with the fresh plants or dry them and which solvent would be best? this question is probably answered in the course but I haven’t gotten there yet and I hate to pass up the opportunity to preserve the cleavers.

1 user thanked author for this post.
          Jodie Hummel
          Student