Tagged: 

Viewing 34 reply threads
  • Author

I have a major addiction to sugar. I try to eat healthy, and some days I do alright, but I go on these spurts where I have to have it ALL THE TIME. Once I even ate so much at one time I made myself throw up. I can eat healthy, with very little sugar, for a while and it’s easy. But after so long of very little sugar it’s like my body wants to make up for it and I go into sugar craving overdrive. I am constantly stressed and I struggle with anxiety and depression. I know that it gets worse the more stress/anxiety/depression I am feeling, but that is not the root of it. I know that eating sugar during those times can in fact make those feelings worse. What is the best way to knock this out? Are there any herbs that specifically help with sugar cravings?

Total of 15 users thanked author for this post. Here are last 10 listed.
      Angela Houk
      Student

Hi Brieann,

Sorry to hear about your sugar cravings and though I’m not an expert nutritionist, I can testify that Chromium Picolinate supplements help me quiet the cravings.  You can get it at most health food and vitamin stores and the label states it supports healthy glucose metabolism.  Research it for yourself and I wish you well!

Hello Bianna, I’m so sorry to hear about your cravings. They can sure feel like they have control over you. One thing good, that you’ve probably already learned in this course is that sugar cravings are a symptom and not the problem.  I would follow Doc Jones and look into Candida. Candida love to feed on sugar and if you are withholding it from them, they will let you know!! Some other tips would be to first eat some fruit when you get those sugar cravings and see if that satisfies the craving. Adding more leafy greens to a diet can help and for some people, a supplement of Inositol helps.  Good luck. I hope you find the answers you are looking for.

Heather Clark
            Student